It was at a time when the Congregation of Teresian Carmelites was spread in different dioceses of kerala that the regional houses were formed as a part of development of the congregation. Devamatha Region was formed in 1985 may 4th at St. Pius Convent Kuttikkanam under Vijayapuram  Diocese  with 16 convents which were in four dioceses such as Kochi, Vijayapuram, Kollam and Thiruvananthapurm.  Rev.Sr. Safeera was elected unanimously as Regional Superior. Later due to certain practical limitations like lack of travelling facilities, the regional house was shifted to Fathima Matha Convent, kottayam in 1985 October 13th.  The first Provincial Chapter was held at St. Joseph’s Vidyabhavan in 1988 June 26th. Sr. Bibiyana was elected as the 1st Provincial superior of the Devamatha Province. During the course of time the province grew and the sisters were engaged in different missionary activities such as teaching, nursing,  house visiting, and other social works. . By the providence of God, Devamatha Province has 28 formed houses. 9 in the Diocese of Vijayapurm, 5 in Cochin, 3 in Kollam, 2 in Trivandrum, 3 in Neyyatinkara, 4 in Punalur, and 2 in the Diocese of Alleppy. Altogether there are 213 professed sisters including 42 junior sisters. Nine Provincial Chapters have been held until now and all these juncture added to the growth of the province as well as the welfare of each member. The last provincial chapter was held at Spirituality Centre, Kuttikkanam in 2011 at which Rev. Sr. Pulcheria was elected as the provincial Superior.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *